KristenRuns Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 26 Jun 2017 04:20:58 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Wed, Jun 21, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-21-2017.html <p><span style="font-size: 12pt;">Warm up. 2x300 moderate, 6x50 fast. Cool down.</span></p> Wed, 21 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 20, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-20-2017.html <p>Vinyasa yoga class at Chelsea Piers</p> Tue, 20 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 19, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-19-2017.html <p>Core and upper body</p> Mon, 19 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 18, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-18-2017.html <p>W/u</p> <p>3x(100y moderate, 2x50y fast)</p> <p>C/d</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 18 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 17, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-17-2017.html <p>W/u</p> <p>50, 100, 150, 100, 50 moderate&nbsp;</p> <p>C/d</p> Sat, 17 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 16, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-16-2017.html <p>w/u</p> <p>8 x 100 mixture of easy, moderate, and fast (2:10, 2:05, 2:00)</p> <p>c/d</p> Fri, 16 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 15, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-15-2017.html <p>Weights at Chelsea Piers - back and arms.</p> Thu, 15 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 14, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-14-2017.html <p>w/u</p> <p>4x200 front crawl moderate (4:12-15)</p> <p>c/d</p> Wed, 14 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 13, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-13-2017.html <p>Weights at NYSCGC</p> Tue, 13 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 07, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-07-2017.html <p>Weights at Chelsea Piers. Chest and shoulders</p> Wed, 07 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 05, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-05-2017.html <p>Weights at NYSC Grand Central. So busy, so workout was random bc just going for open machines!</p> Mon, 05 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 04, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-04-2017.html <p>Early morning swim.</p> <p>W/U 100 free; 2x50 back</p> <p>3x200 descending (easy, moderate, fast)</p> <p>C/D 100 free. 5x50 back</p> <p>45 minutes of weights and stretching - the usual.</p> Sun, 04 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 03, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-03-2017.html <p>Early morning swim...</p> <p>W/U 200 freeeasy; 300 yards back stroke.</p> <p>2x100 easy (2:15); 2x100 moderate (2:05); 2x100 hard (2:00) (all free)</p> <p>C/U 150 free; 100 back stroke; 50 free.</p> <p>I was out late last night and didn&#39;t get much sleep. This swim was a struggle! Back stroke felt pretty good. I&#39;m getting it.</p> <p>30 minutes of weights - core, PT, upper body.</p> Sat, 03 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 02, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-02-2017.html <p>Got my MRI read today and diagnosed with another tibial stress fracture in the same exact spot as 2015. It&#39;s small - just the beggining of one. I&#39;ve already been off of running for one month. I&#39;m going to be off for another month - maybe 2 months. I go back to the doctor in 4 weeks.</p> <p>Not under the kind of restrictions I was last time...I am only not supposed to run and take ibuprofin/NSAIDs (have been shown to affect bone osteogenesis during fracture healing).</p> <p>I&#39;m going to take these 4 weeks and improve swimming - espcially backstroke and continue weights - especially core and flexibility.</p> <p>What did I do wrong?</p> <p>November &ndash; average 20 miles a week. December was about the same. Took two weeks off Christmas and New Years. Then ran three hard weeks &ndash; 33, 21, and 40 (with a half marathon race). Then tibia started talking to me in February. Cut mileage a lot but continued to do races in Feb., March, and April.</p> <p>Things I will do better in the future &ndash;</p> <ol> <li>More rest before and after races. I had difficult training weeks the week before races and tended to take an easy 5 days after races. I need to do no workouts the week before a race, and I would also be better off skipping a long run on the weekend following a race. I should really take 2 weeks off of all workouts after a race.</li> <li>Ease up mileage after extended breaks. I can&rsquo;t just jump back in after weeks off like I have been doing all year with hard weeks or races.</li> <li>Run easy miles slower. Most of my runs were about 8:00 this fall and winter. I became a speed demon after the hot summer was over. It felt so good and easy to run 8:00 but that was too fast. My best half marathon pace was like 7:10...</li> <li>Better form. I got a form evaluation when I started PT last month. I had changed my form and had become a major heal striker, especially on my right side. I was majorly overstriding and created bad ground force angles. Also hips were dropping a little bit. So need to improve core, hip, and glute strength and continue on improving form.</li> </ol> <p>Things I did well &ndash; full rest day every week. Just a few double workout days (second workout was always yoga).</p> Fri, 02 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 01, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-01-2017.html <p>Swimming lesson with Jahi - learning backstroke.</p> <p>Weights workout - core, PT, a little upper body - the usual<br /> &nbsp;</p> Thu, 01 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 31, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-31-2017.html <p>Weight session at NYSC-GC. 5x 20 leg lifts in Roman chair. 5x&nbsp;side planks w leg raise. 3x back extension 3 ways. 5x leg curls and unweighted squats. 3x hip abduction. 3x dips.</p> Wed, 31 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 29, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-29-2017.html Swim - w/u 100y front & 50y kick. 2x100y @ moderate (< 2:00) 2x100y kick. c/d 100y front & 50y kick Core / upper body weights Stretching Chelsea Piers Mon, 29 May 2017 06:00:00 Sun, May 28, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-28-2017.html <p>45 minute swim and core/PT strength at Chelsea Piers</p> Sun, 28 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 27, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-27-2017.html <p>My first structured swim work out. I am tyring to get more comfortable swimming faster so that I can get my heart rate out of the 130s during my swims. When I swim fast, it still feels like coordinated drowning...trying to get comfortable with that feeling. Maybe I need a better analogy ;)</p> <p>W/U, drills, 8x (100 yards moderate effort &amp; 50 yards focusing on form and long strokes), C/D (42 minutes)</p> <p>About an hour of core, upperbody, stretching.</p> Sat, 27 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 26, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-26-2017.html <p>Yoga class and sushi with Juliana. My kind of Friday night!</p> Fri, 26 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 25, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-25-2017.html <p>Upper body and core at NYSC GC. Had an MRI this morning on tibia. Just to be sure I&#39;m fine.&nbsp;MRIs cost a lot more in NY. $1300 v $500 in San Diego. Thankful mine was covered by insurance.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 25 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 24, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-24-2017.html <p>30 minute swim and 30 minutes on core at Chelsea Piers.</p> Wed, 24 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 23, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-23-2017.html <p>Weights and stretching at the most crowded gym I&#39;ve ever seen. NY Sports Club in Grand Central Station.</p> Tue, 23 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 22, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-22-2017.html <p>1400 yards in 35 minutes. Front crawl and back stroke drills&nbsp;</p> Mon, 22 May 2017 06:00:00 Sun, May 21, 2017 http://KristenRuns.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-21-2017.html <p>Weights and stretching</p> Sun, 21 May 2017 06:00:00